Daily CanCon: Bif Naked “Spaceman”

In honour of my new play, BIG IN GERMANY, which is all about Canadian rock music and the 1990s, I’m going to share a CanCon music video everyday. BIG IN GERMANY plays at Buddies in Bad Times April 9-21. Get tickets here.

Today’s video is “Spaceman” by Bif Naked.

I met Bif Naked in 1999 on the corner of Queen St W and Beverly St. It was blistering hot, and I had an Italian soda in my hand from the Second Cup on the corner. She was performing a free concert in the parking lot that’s now a Shoppers’ Drug Mart to mark the opening of the new HMV. The other acts on the bill were former I Mother Earth lead singer Edwin, who’d just released his solo album, and (if I remember correctly) Blue Rodeo. I was there mostly for Edwin, who at this point I’d seen live, oh, five, six times, including with IME.

bifnakedI wasn’t blown away by Bif’s set (nor by Edwin’s), but I enjoyed it more than I’d thought I would. At the time, Spaceman was getting a lot of airplay, but it was the annoying Boomtang Boys remix that I kept encountering on MuchMusic.

There wasn’t a huge crowd for the concert – I’d only heard about it through Edwin’s web site, no major ads on Edge102 or the usual places you’d find out about these things – so the energy was kinda down. On the one hand, given the circumstances, you could understand performers just wanting to get the hell out of there after their sets. On the other, you had Bif Naked.

After her set, Bif came down into the crowd to sign autographs and chat up the diehard teenage fans. She seemed genuinely interested in what we thought of her set, if we were going to Edgefest that year, what other bands we listened to – it was so cool interacting like a real person with this woman I’d seen on TV.

I guess when you release a song with lyrics like “I see your face on television almost every day/in magazines and on the big screen, close yet and far away” you begin to take your relationship to your fans seriously.

Got a memory of meeting a Canadian rock star? Share it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

